RSS

Poss? Or just pub goss? The yes/no interlude…

08 Aug

Yes, the old Imperial is re-opening next Thursday as a real-ale bar. Woo-oo-oo!

No, I didn’t get an invite

Yes, Bush St Johns is ditto next Friday under the Cannon Royall banner.

No, ditto

Yes, I’m intrigued at talk of a new Marstons venture to be signed-and-sealed next Tuesday (poss)

No, I’m not surprised that they’ve ditched all that purple paint they were splashin’ about everywhere a while back.

Yes, more than poss (or poss just goss) that Bushwackers is going to re-invent itself as something else with new owners quite soon

No, I’m not in the least bit surprised that everybody’s pal Richard Appleton of the Dragon has had enough of Worcester. Or was it the other way round?

Yes, ex-barmaid of the Virgin due to step-in I hear after licensees are given the boot for…   well, I gather a whole shed-load o’ reasons

No, contrary to rumour, they’re not leaving the Blackpole, despite some very unhappy staff there after ol’ Ray Brierley collected his bus pass

Yes, I’d like to think that Wetherspoons’ extensive plans to restore the former glories of the once-great Crown (now called Lloyds No1 for reasons best known to themselves) as a hotel from next week could prove fruitful

No, nothing’s going to change at the Courtyard, Horn and Trumpet, Old Greyhound and/or Blackpole despite a nasty to-do at the former that’s led to the axing of a couple of DRP licenses

Yes, M+B are going to be busy with new-look Raven and Perdi both re-emerging – one as a Toby’s Tavern and the other as a Harvester.

No, I can’t remember which

Yes, there’s talk of an up-coming beer festival at the Winning Post at the end of this month.

No, it doesn’t bother me in the least that the Paul Pry closes early most nights and remains closed on Mondays because yes… I’m ticketted!  

Yes, I’m delighted to hear that up to tea-time yesterday, organisation of the CAMRA beer fest on Pitchie had been largely faultless.

No, I didn’t go, ‘cos they didn’t see the 2012 event the same way that I did! What’s not to like?  See it here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YOGNFUcdL94&spfreload=10

Yes, I wondered quite how when I heard that the recent re-fit of the Talbot in the Tything cost £200K

No, I never did get to meet its new gaffer and neither did many others ‘cos he spends all his time in the kitchen. Yet more changes afoot there, I hear.

Yes, Vine lucky if it re-opens at Xmas as re-build costs go through the roof.

No, no pun intended

Yes, plans for Co-op store at the Goodie appear to have stalled

No, I haven’t followed up on rumours that police are not happy with the way Glovers’ Needle has been run and might lodge objection to renewal at the appropriate time

Yes, Lakes re-vamp as a convenience store looks close to completion. Think of me when you go shopping: it’s where I had my wedding reception (1969)

And no… I won’t leave it so long before publication of the next blog.   Promise!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 8, 2015 in About

 

One response to “Poss? Or just pub goss? The yes/no interlude…

  1. Chris Watts.

    August 8, 2015 at 8:47 am

    I hear on the grape vine my old pub is up for sale?? The Albion £350k according to local gossip ” A Indian Restaurant”

     

Leave a comment